Speaking of B Movies…

I was flipping through channels during lunch, and I came upon the very beginning of a movie that looked like it would meet my criteria for B movies.  It’s called Supernova, and the major star is James Spader.  More about him later.

This film isn’t what I expected, but in a way, it is, too.  It isn’t a disaster movie, which I expected from the title.  Supernova is a movie about humanity and personality, and a disaster, of a sort.  Typical B-movie sci-fi, although I expect it has a following.  Basically, rescue ship answers beacon, picks up survivor and “artifact.” Benign survivor turns bad….. that’s all for now, in case someone of you want to watch it 😎

The reason I sat down to write this is because of my actor/watcher relationship with James Spader.  I first saw him as Steff in Pretty in Pink.  I love Molly Ringwald, or did when she was making that kind of movie.  But the Steff character is a snob, a self-righteous bastard, and a jackass who believes his parents’ wealth gives him permission to do anything he wants.  (And, as you’ll see, this is my non-hateful definition of the character!)  Spader plays Steff, and he is convincingly nasty.  I decided when I saw this movie for the first time that I hated him.  Not Steff — James Spader.  I thought that was perfectly normal.  Of course, I was pretty perfectly abnormal, so I would.

I haven’t watched any of his movies since.  I even stayed away from Stargate, because he acted in it.  (That’s saying a lot, for a sci-fi freak like me.)  I held on to this irrational feeling from 1985 until today.  I’m not saying he’s particularly good in this movie, although he plays his part with some skill.  I just haven’t had the opportunity to watch him since I went through all those changes last year,  For the first time in 30 years, I watched.  And I don’t hate him at all.  He’s a decent actor, and I have some movie-making-up to do.

But why was my initial reaction so strong?  Because it was easier to hate an actor than another individual?  Well, yes, but….  Because he played such a total A-hole in that movie?  Well, obviously, I’d known that type in high  school, and I blamed him, for some crazy reason, for the crap I got from the cheerleaders, et al.  Was it easier when I was 25 to hate anyone, because that made it okay that I hated myself?  Closer.  More questions and answers will arise as the days go by, I’m sure.

And my final point?  I know not every kid is as crazy as I was, but if someone claims that movie content doesn’t influence young people, I have to laugh.  Ironically.  Ha, Ha, F*cking Ha.

6 responses to “Speaking of B Movies…

  1. I can see where you are coming from, ‘cos I get a similar feel/attitude towards all these reality shows and participants, ‘so called celebrities’ . I wont go on cos it does get me a little. Nice post.

    • Oh, yes, I think reality, and reality stars, are a scourge on the face of humanity — as though we were standing still, just allowing people to throw sh*t at us, which is exactly what we, as a society, are doing. All because of the writers’ strike. What horrible consequence!

  2. Poor James Spader, lost all your movie watching due to one poor ass-wipe of a character. But you couldn’t help the reaction, I’ve not even seen pretty in Pink.. I’m pretty sad in that way, the movies I’ve NOT seen. James is well worth watching and I’m glad yoru head space is ‘normal’ now (for all the right reasons) 🙂

    • Thanks! Yes, I’m pretty glad I in a good normal space now too! Alas, Mr. Spader — he was reasonably good in this movie, and the story line was just my kind of thing, so I had fun watching it. I’m going back and see what I have missed of his movies, starting with Stargate. Hopefully, somewhere, he realizes that I’m sorry I hated him for all those years!

I love to read your thoughts...

