30-Day Challenge Day Twenty-Seven: Top Five Most Annoying Things About Myself

The Top Five Most Annoying Things about Myself:  Well, I wrote the Title, and then repeated it here, and so far, that’s all I can think of to write, not because I can’t come up with any, but because it would be very easy to come up too many.  Here we go:

  1. I’m a Grammar Policewoman:  This characteristic of mine actually ties in with number 2 as well.  I am bothered by mistakes in spelling, grammar, and word usage, and always have been.  I don’t react anywhere near as vehemently as I used to, but that person is still there.  Number two explains the reason.
  2. I am an intellectual snob:  I was not really raised to be a particularly successful human being, (understatement of the year!)  I was, however, held to very strict standards of academic achievement, and over the years I invested almost all of my feeling of self-worth on knowing more than most people knew.  I think I would have been happy to get Bs and Cs, and been a normal kid, even before the diabetes.  But that is over and passed, and if the worst result is my grammar-frustration, I’d say I’m doing well.
  3. I lack well-developed self-discipline:  I could say I have none, but that wouldn’t be exactly true.  I am managing my diabetes far more carefully than I used to, and that requires self-discipline.  But I don’t force myself to walk in the winter, nor do I always stick to my food plan.
  4. And, related to number 3, I have no waist.  Actually, I have a waist, but I can’t find it.  I have a rectangle-shaped body, and I don’t think I’ve ever had a pair of pants that fit me.  To add to the problem, I have my grandmother’s skinny little legs — I appear to be a muffin-top on two chopsticks.  Not a flattering look, believe me.  That’s how I got to be so good at … hmmmhmmm…other aspects of romantic relationships — I figured no one would want me for my body.  What I have learned since is that I was wrong about that.  A confident woman who respects herself is attractive, regardless of outward appearance.  And I’m finally there.
  5. I have skin troubles.  I have had diabetic leg ulcers since before I was diagnosed with diabetes, and since I was a little, little kid, I have not been able to leave my skin alone.  I am incredibly embarrassed to admit that I am a picker.  The nastiest confession I could make.  And now I have.  So, on with the story.  The ulcers took months to heal — until I learned to keep my fingers away from them, after which, they healed very quickly.  Then, about two and a half years ago, I began to break out in little pairs of red spots, which itch like fire!  We don’t know what it is, but I have dozens of pairs of little red dots on my skin, where the breakouts were, and they’ve itched so badly in the past that I’ve literally scratched layers off of my arms.  Annoying — I’ll say!
4 responses to “30-Day Challenge Day Twenty-Seven: Top Five Most Annoying Things About Myself

  1. Yeah, I do that too! Having my Mom reading my blog each day contributes to some of my reluctance to share some of my darker thoughts. I don’t feel like all the unsolicited advice of how to live my life.

    • I finally told my mom that I wasn’t holding anything back. She sees what good this blog is doing for me, and has agreed to understand that the past is the past, and can’t be changed. This one agreement has changed our lives. 😎

  2. My husband does the same thing with his skin. He’d have a lot less scars if he left it alone, but it itches all the time.

    I have to say – your post is honest! I give you credit for not holding back. I’m getting braver about writing those and my readers have been encouraging. Still, it’s hard sometimes to share.

    On the other hand, somedays I have no shame and don’t care either what others think about me.

    Nancy

I love to read your thoughts...

