30-Day Challenge: Spirituality, Day 26

Day 26:  What day of the week is your day of worship?  Do you have one?  Why?  Why not?

Unlike some organized religions, I do not have a particular day set aside for practicing my faith.  I spend time each day, reaffirming and strengthening the ties to my faith through the rites and meditation I’ve created.

During my time in the United Methodist Church, I joined most other Christian churches in observing Sunday as a day of worship.  But, even long before I questioned whether Methodism was the faith for me, I was aware of the fact that many members of Christian Churches worship on Sunday, and then do what they want the rest of the week.  I did this, myself.  I knew that I was a hypocrite to live this way, and that knowledge had some part in my eventual decision to leave the church.  In order to avoid this, I decided not to limit myself to one day.

Now, I understand, large organizations must make choices like this; a single day of worship can only make sense for a church as large as the Christians.  And I know that not all Christians worship one day and blow off the rest.  But for me, in order to avoid the chance that I may do that, I spend that time, every day, to renew and bolster my beliefs.  As far as I can tell, I wouldn’t be successful any other way.

2 responses to “30-Day Challenge: Spirituality, Day 26

  1. Wow, I feel exactly the same way. Everyday is a day of reverence, appreciation, and a chance to spiritually grow. To me it’s the difference between practicing out of a feeling of fear or obligation and practicing out of love and joy. My spiritual teacher once said that the right spiritual attitude regardless of belief is to always be happy, always be grateful, and love each other. Regardless of traditions if we have these basic things then we will enjoy our practices more and get along better. Simplicity is when things work best.

    • You have a very wise teacher! If you go back through the archives of this challenge, you will find the history of my path to spiritual fulfillment — long and strange! If you’d like to give this challenge a shot, go to the My Creations page on my blog. I only know of me and one other person participating. I think the next one of these I write will be about Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears! Not really!!

I love to read your thoughts...

