Again with the drama? (she rolls her eyes)

Today’s Four Agreement card, by Don Miguel Ruiz, is a repeat that bears re-examination.  Once again, I have drawn from the category of Don’t Make Assumptions.  The card is:

Say Goodbye to Sadness and Drama

All the sadness and drama you have lived in your life was rooted in making assumptions and taking this personally.  The whole world of control between humans is based on that.  Take a moment and consider this.

Here is an example of a post which contains a lot of drama.  I don’t mean overt stories, but just in the way I described things.  Nurse-zilla did use a brush to clean my cut, but I was not horrified at the pain, I was scared, like any other kid would be.  The anaesthetic shot was bad,  but any shot like that would have felt bad, in the cut or away from it.  It was a bigger needle than those I was used to.

Little Girl, Crying

I wasn’t hysterical, I was crying; I didn’t scream, I simply hollered.  I can’t remember the ride home, because it was a normal ride.   We were crammed into a nine-seater station wagon, as always, and my foot was still anesthetized, but I would bet that we kids bickered under our breath, or shoved each other (out of sight, of course,) or other kid stuff.  No big deal.

You probably need no other examples, but choose almost any post, and you’ll see the same type of language.  The reason is that’s how I remember it happening.  I can look back now and analyze, but drama has been a very large part of my life for all of it, from the day I left the house and walked to the grocery store when I was 2.  My tendency is to write what I remember, and I remember the dramatic version of almost everything.

Drama Queen Girl, Crying

I’ve decided to take each instance at a time, and choose what kind of words I want to use to describe it.  I can say, right now, that more often than not I will still write dramatically — it’s part of who I am.  I am already doing my best, and better every day, at eliminating drama from my life, and it helps me lead a much more peaceful existence.  So I need an outlet, and I think it’s going to be these posts about my history.  That will have to do.

2 responses to “Again with the drama? (she rolls her eyes)

I love to read your thoughts...

