Put One Foot In Front Of The Other

On this day of your life, Judith, I believe God wants you to know…

… that good things await you on the other side of this

ridge. This is a hill you can climb. Just put one foot in

front of the other.

This is the same message, from Neale Donald Walsh’ Conversations with God, that I used for inspiration in my post, From Me or Not From Me.  This little message gets me thinking in many different ways, and so, a stab at a different focus tonight.

Who remembers Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town?

Put One Foot in Front of the Other!

  With Burger Meister Meister Burger, and the Winter Warlock, and Kris Kringle, and Tanta Kringle, and Jessica, and Topper, the penguin and all the sad children of Sombertown? Please , just bear with me; I loved that Christmas special program, and I particularly loved one song:

Now, I can guarantee that I have felt just like that Winter Warlock — mean and despicable, for so many different reasons.  I certainly did not learn the lesson of one foot in front of the other until fairly recently.  I stepped on my feet, and put up boulders in my path, and I was very sad before I was ever even cheerful.

And now is when I need this lesson the most.  I came tearing into this joyful time with both barrels blazing; nothing could hold me back.  And I felt like that for months.  But then a day came when I wasn’t so happy.  I didn’t want to go back to depression, and so I employed the one foot/other foot technique, as well as Fake It ‘Til You Make It, and letting go of the past.  With the combination of these, and other methods as well, I found that I could be sad, and then be joyful again.  I didn’t have to go back down that long road.

I continue to make mistakes, overstepping my boundaries, connecting my mouth and fingers without hooking my brain into the circuit.  I believe these are situations I need to face, because I missed them all those years, or because I let them lose their clout — through sadness and self-hate.  Now I am making those mistakes, and learning their lessons, as well as making tremendous strides in my understanding of myself, the people and the world I love, and the Cosmos around and in each one of us.

If you want to change your direction,

If your time of life is at hand,

Well, don’t be the rule, be the exception.

A good way to start is to stand!

2 responses to “Put One Foot In Front Of The Other

I love to read your thoughts...

