An addendum…

This is a follow-up on my earlier post, The Longest Trip.  This morning was my second day of scheduled walking, and though I didn’t walk far, I felt the effect throughout the day, and up to now.

My knees are knocking — clattering around like a flapper, trembling like old leaves in the winds we’ve had for the last few days.  In fact, I can only stand up and walk around if I have something to hold, and if I still feel like this tomorrow, I’m getting my cane out of storage.  I know this sounds melodramatic, but honestly, after sitting around all winter, I should have been more intentional about stretching before I walked.

So, just before four, Mom called and asked if I want to see The Avengers.  More on the movie in another post.  But I sat in that uncomfortable chair for 2 1/2 hours, and when I stood up, I almost fell in the lap of the man two rows back from me.  And as soon as we got in the car to head home, I began to feel nauseated.  I made it home, and up the elevator to my apartment; all I can say is I’m glad the bathroom is the first door when I get through the front door.

After a while, I calmed down and was able to sit in the living room.  I started wondering — my blood sugar was fine, for me, at 127.  Low blood sugars bring on that kind of nausea; since that was not the problem, I looked at what I’d eaten before, and what I had to drink at the theatre.  I think, considering the outcome, that I had too much Diet Coke.  I was so tired by the time I sat down that I napped for a couple of hours, and felt much better when I woke.

Now, my readers, you will likely hear updates from time to time.  Read them, ignore them, whatever you wish.  This is a record kept for me, so I can track my progress. Walking, even a very short distance, gives me a sense of accomplishment. In the meantime, thanks so much for your comments, your likes, and for reading what I have to say.

vb

I love to read your thoughts...

