My Sonnet to Life

To Life

I’m not as young as when I was nineteen,

Nor when I reached th’almighty twenty-one.

My life, so long a race which must be won,

Now seems uncounted, all the scorecards clean.

But I must say, with not a question spoke,

That I am younger than I was last year,

At least my heart is.  I no longer fear

The passing time, nor wish youth, to evoke.

My many days once seemed a heavy load

To carry.  Now I shoulder them with ease.

I laugh, and give my days a little squeeze,

And take them with me; life to me bestowed.

‘Tis happiness I feel, and know it plain,

And so, this joy no longer need I feign.

2 responses to “My Sonnet to Life

  1. “That I am younger than I was last year,

    At least my heart is. I no longer fear

    The passing time, nor wish youth, to evoke”
    Well written, I like this sentiment.

I love to read your thoughts...

