The Day of Open Leaves

Here in Maine, I enjoy a special day in the spring:  the day all the leaves are open on the trees.  Since I measure this day from my view from the front patio, I see that today is finally that day.  This is reason for a quiet celebration; spring leaves are sprung, and now we are ready for summer.

Not that our spring weather isn’t beautiful, because it is.  Today is another sunny day with no clouds in the sky, and a balmy 71℉ at 3:15PM.  I walked my way around the building today — only stopped twice, which is, for me, a big deal!  I sat outside on the patio this morning, and listened to two sweet-singing male cardinals,

Cardinal atop a Maple tree

one to my left, and one to my right, warbling to each other about (I think) whose tree is prettier, or taller.

So today, as I said, is a special day of celebration — no longer am I rejoicing that the leaves are opening up on the trees.  Today they are open, and I wish I could show you:  Maples and Oaks and Beeches, all with their most vibrant summer green on, billowing and shifting in the May evening winds.  The Maples were first, as the Maples are almost always first, and now they are putting out their whirligig seed pods, like thousands of little helicopters floating through the air.

Next come the mighty Oaks, which only just lost the last of last fall’s leaves.

The Mighty Oak in Spring Leaves

Their new leaves are near the same green color, but they don’t have quite the grace of the Maples’ leaves, which flutter so prettily.  The oak leaves are staid, in a word, and swing on heavy stems, which is why I always see a few that make it through the winter.

Then, growing right up through the patio out front are a pair of beech trees.  Three stood out on the patio, but the fire department insisted on cutting one down last year.  Characteristically, the beeches

Birch leaves

I still sit under are the last to get their leaves — I’m really not sure why.  One thing about these leaves really captivates me, though:  the leaves are sometimes similar in shape to Aspen tree leaves in higher elevations in Colorado, and in the fall, they turn the same beautiful gold.

As I sat, sipping my tea, I noticed that our peonies,

Pale Pink Peonies in our front garden

which are supported by cages, grew a foot between yesterday morning and this morning.  And since then, one of them is now showing five buds.  Peonies are beautifully scented, but a mixed blessing.  They require ants to help them propagate, which means ants all over the patio, and often in the apartments.  Time to get some traps.

Another scented beauty is the lilac, and they are in full bloom right now.  Lavender and white,

Lovely lilacs

and hybrids in all shades of purple and wine, and each one smells sweeter than the last.  Our lilac tree/bush is in the back garden, and I stop for a deep breath when I walk by; lilacs bloom for such a short time.

Today I spotted a bud on the rugosa rose which is just beginning to open; it is open enough for a slight whiff of that ambrosial smell, the prettiest and sweetest of all the flowers.  I can’t wait for them to bloom.

Rugosa Rose, or Beach Rose, loves salt air

The grass, and the flowers, and the trees with their full coats of leaves make my own front yard a very pretty spot to sit, and I intend to spend most of my summer spare time out there.  I live on the coast of Maine, and I am a very lucky woman.

8 responses to “The Day of Open Leaves

  1. The beech here have just opened their leaves. This has been the worst year for beech pollen in 20 years. It’s everywhere! It’s amazing when the leave open after being dormant for so long. Enjoy your spring 🙂

  2. A beautiful description of a special annual event! Tennessee is the furthest east I have ever been. Sounds like you live in a lovely part of the country, Judith! I am very happy for you!

  3. Sounds awesome 😉 I have another follower who is from Maine also, so I googled your position on the map. Although I had the right idea that you were on the East coast I had no idea you were so far north. (Learning US geography is not on our school learning, lol) It looks like a fab place to live 🙂

  4. Yet one more. I have an affinity for all things trees. Even ones that have their roots exploding from the earth they are seated in. I love bare branches for which I can see eternity when lying on my back gazing into the heavens above,

I love to read your thoughts...

