The Continuing Epidemic

I have not said very much about the time I worked at the Eastern Maine AIDS Network.  I was hired as case manager, so I got to know most of the clients very well.  You can guess the end, I’m sure.  After I lost seven clients in 8 months, I realized that I was in no emotional state to be providing any kind of assistance to anyone else, because I needed it so badly myself.

I am not active in the movement to cure HIV and AIDS anymore, or to remove all of the stigma attached to it.  But this TED program, by Shereen El Feki, addresses not only the unfairness and stigma of the current laws, in the Arab world and everywhere; she also talks about how these misguided laws contribute to the spread of the disease.

I love to read your thoughts...

