Rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, and self-reliance

Hi!  I’m a little late posting today, as I woke up around 9:30, and didn’t get out of my PJs till Mom called at three.  We went shopping for a new purse for her, and she gave me one of hers –could be brand new, leather, lovely!  On our way home, we drove through town, and found a few places where the streets were under water.  Downtown was fine, because low tide is here.  Wait until tonight and high tide!  And it is still raining.

I’ve been thinking about something Mom and I talked about in the car:  she was a little concerned that I am taking the Four Agreements cards, and the book of Affirmations, and everything that certain people say, as gospel.  And, to a certain degree, she is right.  I wasn’t really able to explain it off the top of my head, but now I can.

On stuff like the sugar on the ulcers, which was wildly unsuccessful, but a good idea, (a nurse friend told me they used to use sugar in a nursing home where she worked,) I should have taken the advantage of HAVING THE ENTIRE WORLD AT MY FINGERTIPS to check around.  But I am using it on ordinary cuts, and it’s working like a charm.

Other stuff, like ways of looking at life, are kind of different.  When I hear people talking about some new catchphrase, or read from a new book, I don’t always agree.  But mostly, especially with things I’ve been writing about, those ideas are the ways I wish my life had been all along.  When I hear them, or read them, they feel like they fit very nicely into new theory of how to be happy.  That’s why I seem to gobble this stuff up — because I should have been eating it regularly!

So, Mom, I will be very careful, and use my brain, and really think about stuff.  But a lot of the kind of ideas we talk about, I write about because that’s honestly how I feel.  I love you, and thanks for the advice, and, as always, thanks for reading the blog.  XOXOXOXOX

One response to “Rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, rain, and self-reliance

I love to read your thoughts...

