Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry muffins for breakfast,

And blueberries there in the fridge.

It’s summer in Maine, and it’s blueberries —

Like in Cali, the Golden-Gate bridge.

Little blueberries in my container

As I duck-walked all over the hill,

When I was a kid at our summer place.

I remember their sweetness still.

Fresh blueberries from Maine aren’t ready.

Late summer’s hot days and cool nights

Bring them ripening onto the hillside,

For bear cubs’ and children’s delights.

If they grew all year I would be up there

Just picking and eating my fill,

Enjoying the sun on the hilltop.

This summer, I think that I will.

*****

Inspired by, and with many thanks to, Robert McCloskey and his lovely book, Blueberries for Sal.

Blueberries for Sal
by Robert McCloskey

7 responses to “Blueberry Muffins

    • That’s one of my very clearest memories from when I was 11. And if you haven’t read Blueberries for Sal, you can find somebody reading it on youTube. Well worth the time.

I love to read your thoughts...

