Love’s not enough

How do I know if it just doesn’t fit?

Tight round my throat like a big rubber band

I worry that I will be looking at shit

That I know will not go, it has nowhere to stand

At the start, it was easy, no questions at all

And then some clear warnings I couldn’t deny

But I did deny them, and stood up strong and tall

In the face of disaster, no shout did I cry

No warning, no fear for myself and my heart

That isn’t a problem, I cheerfully said

Except I felt nowhere near learning to start

Living that way, yes, your way, was my lasting dread

As a couple, we just do not work, we both know

And that will never change, though I wish it were so

I love to read your thoughts...

