Last Week I Learned…

Last week, I learned that:

  1. I am very lucky I came to understand my mother now, before I missed out on the fun we have when we’re together.
  2. I could submit an opinion piece to a major newspaper, without worrying about whether or not it will be published there.
  3. I am no longer satisfied to take a day or two of just sitting around, watching TV and reading a book; also, that doing so results in a very sore back, which is unimproved by painkillers.
  4. I have the fortitude to recognize and change behaviors to which I’ve become accustomed, in favor of healthier, more beneficial choices.
  5. Taking time off from writing really replenishes my muse.
  6. I am no longer worried about having a certain number of readers — quality, rather than quantity, is certainly the goal, and I love my interactions with you.
  7. I can slide off the sad end of my balance, and find myself depressed and acting so without even realizing it is happening.
  8. I can also recognize this kind of mood change, and nip it in the bud.

This has been a week of introspection, much-needed but also unsettling.  But isn’t that the way life goes?

2 responses to “Last Week I Learned…

I love to read your thoughts...

