Music my friends are listening to…

I am lucky enough to have friends and family who listen to very good music.  I’ve included examples here.

Sister S. has a birthday coming up, and I asked her what she would like me to get. She sent this singers name, and after listening, I see why.  Regina Spektor has a huge voice, and she sings her lyrics with such power and conviction, it’s hard to believe she is so small.  Here, from What We Saw From The Cheap Seats (2012,)

Regina Spektor’s What We Saw From The Cheap Seats
image courtesy of Wikipedia

 is her All the Rowboats:

and here, from her album Songs is Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas:)

*******

My friend F. introduced these next singers to me; they are folk-singing sisters Johanna (b.1990) and Klara (b. 1993) Sӧderberg, who have named themselves First Aid Kit.  Below you’ll find the title song of their second album, The Lion’s Roar.

First Aid Kit — The Lion’s Roar
image courtesy of cduniverse.com

 Their lovely voices and close harmonies make for a rich listen; in fact, I’d go so far as to say an overwhelmingly beautiful sound.  The musicians in the band are very, very good.  I urge you all to listen to more of these guys.  Here’s First Aid Kit’s The Lion’s Roar:

And here is First Aid Kit’s Emmylou:

7 responses to “Music my friends are listening to…

  1. First Aid Kit truly are amazing ladies. And you might find it interesting to know that Klara of the band has diabetes type 1.

I love to read your thoughts...

