My ticket to an earlier me

I feel a need to write, but I’m not sure about what.  I guess I’m thinking about music, primarily 1970s pop.  Maybe you remember  — American Top 40 was a Saturday radio program, hosted by Casey Kasem.  From age 10 to 16, I listened to that program as often as I could — I would have listened every time, had the rest of my life not interfered.

This was the first example of my later habit:  I enjoy seeing movies over and over, just like I enjoyed hearing the songs on the countdown every week.  Change was infrequent on that show; the top 40 would be the same songs for weeks, though they may be arranged in different order.  I wrote of the song Brandy, You’re a Fine Girl by Looking Glass in an earlier post.  I can name 20 or 30 songs off the top of my head that I was listening to then each of which carries me right back.  In fact, I’m going to try to remember a few, (not in any particular order:)

The Air That I Breathe by The Hollies
More Than A Feeling by Boston
Midnight Confession by The Grass Roots


I Think We’re Alone Now by Tommy James and the Shondells
Happy Together by The Turtles
Band On The Run by Paul McCartney and Wings
Live and Let Die also by Paul McCartney
I’ve Got a Brand New Pair of Roller Skates by Melanie
Indian Reservation by Paul Revere and the Raiders
Crimson and Clover by Tommy James and the Shondells
Love Child by Diana Ross and the Supremes
This Diamond Ring by Gary Lewis and the Playboys  (I think this was late 60s, but it is very clear as a song of that era.
Long Cool Woman in a Black Dress by The Hollies
ABC by the Jackson Five
Ben by Michael Jackson
White Room by Cream
D’yer Ma’ker by Led Zeppelin
Stairway to Heaven also by Led Zeppelin
I Love Rock and Roll by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
Gimme Some Lovin’ by The Spencer Davis Group
Undun by The Guess Who
These Eyes by The Guess Who, too
Nights in White Satin by The Moody Blues
Sweet Baby James by James Taylor
Feelin’ Groovy by Simon and Garfunke
If by Bread
A Whiter Shade of Pale by Procol Harum
It’s Too Late by Carole King
Bridge Over Troubled Water by Simon and Garfunkel
Ride My Seesaw by The Moody Blues
Mrs. Brown, You’ve Got A Lovely Daughter by Herman’s Hermits
Leavin’ On a Jet Plane by Peter, Paul, and Mary
In the Year 2525 by Zager and Evans
Stop In the Name of Love by Diana Ross and the Supremes
Something Tells Me I’m Into Something Good by Herman’s Hermits

I still have a head full, but it’s 11:30 and time for bed.  And I know I’m going to wake up and think of a bunch I’ve forgotten for now.  This was fun — try picking a time in your life and see how many songs you remember.

5 responses to “My ticket to an earlier me

  1. Wow! A blast from the past. I remember this song from about 5th or 6th grade. My two closest friends were the younger siblings in their families so we were exposed to music via the “big” kids. Very cool, thank you, Judith.

I love to read your thoughts...

