We can change our minds

(I started this post on Thursday, but I allowed the world to drag me away.  Now I know why.)

Your Inner Being is always guiding you toward what you are wanting. It is never protecting you from something else.

— Abraham

Excerpted from the workshop in Philadelphia, PA on Tuesday, April 14th, 1998 # 653

I asked my Inner Being to protect me from the awful sadness and anger I have felt these last few days.  Not in so many words, but at one point, while writing My Reaction, I thought to myself if I only could get centered, the whole terrible mess would be a little easier to write about.  I could not have been more wrong.

According to Abraham’s Law of Attraction, we vibrate to certain situations, feelings, and conditions in our lives; the Law of Attraction then works to draw to us the same happiness or sadness, goodness or badness to which we are already vibrating.  My Inner Being is subject to this rule, and thus can only bring to us that which we are already experiencing in our lives.

When, in my sadness about the shootings in our country last week, I changed my blog to a black background, I meant only to express my grief.  But when I opened my blog this morning, and saw all that black, I felt no comfort.  I didn’t even feel the small sense of satisfaction that my righteousness deserved.  The feelings that came to the forefront, for me, were more sadness, and a sense of dissatisfaction, as though my well-intentioned public expression of mourning drew to me more feelings of sadness and frustration.

To me, at least, this lesson is quite obvious.  I do not mean to imply that we should not feel grief and horror at the events of the past few days.  The thing is, the Law of Attraction is not a passive force in our lives.  We have to intend to feel what we want to experience.  We must vibrate positivity, or we just won’t achieve it.

So how do we vibrate positivity on such a terrible day?  I can’t claim to know the answer to the question.  But I know this:  at other times of my life, when I got stuck in a pattern of drawing unhappiness to myself, I needed to vibrate to one tiny chunk of satisfaction, or happiness, to start the Law of Attraction working in the direction I desire.

So my task, today, is to find one tiny bit of positivity in all of the events of the last week.  The challenge is formidable — obviously, no celebration is appropriate, (although I have read posts and heard statements from pro-gun activists, that this is not a reason for condemnation of guns.)  Rather, I decided to appreciate the loving communities of which I am a part, and thank everything that is holy that my nieces and nephews were in other schools at that time.

The way to draw to ourselves the continued safety of ourselves and our communities is to focus on finding peace and satisfaction in our own lives, and emanating those positive feelings to everyone with whom we come in contact.  This is not the solution to troubled individuals who seek to hurt others, but if someone close to the next potential shooter helps that person draw a sense of love and light to themselves, maybe he or she will no longer be a potential shooter.

We can change the entire human race, and now is the time to start.  Tiny little steps sometimes leave us feeling overwhelmed, as though we can never achieve the sense of positivity we seek.  But for me, I remind myself of the working of the Law of Attraction in my life thus far, and trust that I can employ a peaceful, joyous vibration in my heart and my daily life.

 

10 responses to “We can change our minds

  1. I looked for something positive to do too. Rather than non-stop crying, I am organizing our family photos into albums. It is a lovely escape from the sadness and lets me reflect on my family.

I love to read your thoughts...

