Gratitude List, 01/13/2013

Eeeeeeek!  I let a whole Saturday go by without writing a Gratitude List!  Oops.

Gratitude Saturday Challenge Badge(with thanks to Eldy)

Gratitude Saturday Challenge Badge
(with thanks to Eldy)

So, these are some of the parts of my life for which I am grateful:

My circle of support, which includes my family, my friends, and my many online friends and acquaintances.  I am particularly thankful for my sister, S., who sends unbroken love  this way all of the time.  My mom has become more and more a part of my regular life, and I am so happy that we have found that friendship.  Mom turned 78 last week, and Dad turned 79 yesterday, and each of them is taking an interest in actively staying healthy — my gratitude for their efforts is enormous.  My sisters and my brother continue to thrive, and I am thankful that each of them is healthy, doing well, and happy.

I am thankful for my health, in the care of which I have taken another small step.  With many thanks to my sister J., I now have a pedal exerciser, which I am using daily.  The exerciser was supposed to be under the desk, but my knees bumped the underside of the desk, so I moved the exerciser to a clear spot in the living room, set up a hard chair, and pedaled for 7 minutes the first couple of days.  Last night, when I neared 7 minutes of pedaling, I still felt pretty good, so I continued for a total of 20 minutes.  I have since adjusted the tension toward more resistance, and I will do some pedaling soon.  Thanks to the physical therapist, I have broken through one of my barriers.

I have always set a short goal for exercise, and automatically stopped when I reached that goal, whether or not I reached my limit.  That habit includes the 7-minute sessions of Thursday and Friday.  Last night, when I reached that time, I decided to continue until I was too tired to go on — I pedaled for 25 minutes!  I ended up exhausted, but also thrilled; this is a triumph most people achieve by teenage, at the very least.  I was a little late, but I felt it.  I am thankful for reaching that condition, because I never dreamed that I would.

I am so grateful for the time I’ve spent with the physical therapist; just that little bit of instruction and encouragement makes a huge difference to me, physically and emotionally.  If I realized support would change me so, I’d have hired a personal trainer decades ago.  I continue to add exercises at home that I learned at the PT office; with thanks to my brother M., and his family, I bought an exercise ball and instructional DVDs.  I will start using those today.

I am gifted with so much for which to be grateful.  (I’m sorry to say, a good memory is no longer one of those gifts!)  By writing this weekly list,  I hold at the top of my mind this precious treasure, and remember that I am a very lucky, blessed woman.

8 responses to “Gratitude List, 01/13/2013

I love to read your thoughts...

