Saturday Gratitude List

Today, the sky is gray, the temperature is well below freezing, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see a little snow.  But my heart is light, and for me, at least, spring has certainly come to pass.

I am grateful, as always, for my family. They are so supportive, loving and truly concerned with my well-being.  I was issued a leave of absence, last night, to attend a production of Grease, by the students of Brunswick High School.  My niece was in the ensemble, and truly, I have never seen her look so beautiful.  The entire cast was animated and enthusiastic, the dance numbers were choreographed astoundingly well, and the show sold out, with a long list of ticket reservations for tonight.  I have never seen  a high school drama program which included upwards of fifteen male singers and dancers who were so uninhibited, and who so enjoyed performing as much as these.

My other niece and my sister sold tickets at the door, and the girls’ father attended as well. It was a very sweet family night out, and I had a blast. After, I returned here and fell into bed, and slept through a long and peaceful night.

I am so happy and grateful that I am recovering as easily as I am, following this whole broken-leg experience. I firmly believe that my positive attitude, and my desire to heal have proved vital to this successful recuperation. I am thankful, beyond words, for the staff here at Horizons Living and Rehabilitation Center, whose dedication and interest in my well-being make Rehab so much more reassuring and valuable. If I am ever in need of medical rehab again, here is where I will come.

I am both concerned and grateful when I consider the state of the world — President Obama’s recent visit to Israel brought about a landmark apology from Israel to Turkey, over an Israeli raid on a Gaza-bound aid flotilla led by a Turkish ship.

I am thankful for the beginning of spring, despite continuing snowstorms across the U.S. In fact, the day has cleared beautifully here, and the blue sky now matches my grateful and happy heart. I am a very lucky woman, and I know it in my soul.

12 responses to “Saturday Gratitude List

  1. Wonderful post. Judith, I think everyone should be asked to do a gratitude list weekly. Just like a shopping list, it should be part of our everyday lives.
    I’m so glad the staff is treating you well and that you are in a GREAT place now vis a vis recovery. Attitude is 98 percent. Lovelovelove d.

    • Attitude is absolutely the change for me — and now that I’m home, and the sun is higher in the sky, I feel like spring is just around the corner. Happy Easter Blessings to you and yours, my friend, and thanks for your input. Love you — Jack

    • Hi, Lydia! I’m so glad to hear from you! I apologize for taking so long to answer. I am finally home, and I hope to start exercising soon to strengthen this leg. Thanks so much for reading! 😎

I love to read your thoughts...

