Homebound.

After a week at home, I am swiftly approaching a difficult decision.  I am receiving Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy from our local home nursing organization, CHANS.  This organization’s workers have a really ridiculous habit of calling at 8:30 to see if they can come over at 9:00.  This has happened 3 times.  But this isn’t even the real problem.

As long as I’m receiving services from CHANS, I cannot return to work at the hardware store.  One of CHANS’ requirements is that I be homebound.  Now, I am already chafing at having to stay home, and I notice a “graying” of my mood as a result of being away from work.  My job is vital to my continued happiness — through it, I see so many friends from around the area, and feel like a part of the community in a way I can’t, as long as I am home.  I am watching more TV, sleeping more during the day, and less during the night.  I ordered a pizza on the second night I was home — I didn’t pig out, (two pieces at a meal is more than enough,) but just the fact that I was more interested in eating fatty, salty food than in having something healthy is a sign that I am beginning to slide down that slippery slope.

My alternative would be to convince CHANS to discharge me, so I can go back to outpatient therapy at Riverview, the folks who helped me with my posture.  I far prefer this alternative, but I will have to convince my surgeon and my primary care physician before I can get them to sign off.  And therein lies my dilemma.  I have to plan carefully what I’ll say, especially to the surgeon, in order to have him release me to outpatient therapy.

The Occupational Therapist from CHANS has said I don’t need her services, besides check-in visits starting today, and twice more in the next two weeks.  I don’t anticipate any problems getting her to discharge me.  The PT may be a different problem.  She is a little overly-protective — I showed her yesterday that I can walk up and down 16 stairs with no problem, and walk back and forth the length of the building hallways quite easily.  I just need to convince her that work is most important to my peace of mind and sanity.  Hopefully she’ll listen.

Meanwhile, one of my other community workers has gotten an application for me to pay half-price for taxi rides, which will make a big difference to my wallet.  She is coming over tomorrow to have me fill out the application, and then we’ll turn it in, so that I can get back and forth to work for $5 a day, instead of ten.  I am also striving to walk the two or so blocks out to the closest main road to catch a bus to work, which will further reduce my expenditure for transportation for the day to $3.50.  That, I can handle.

All in all, I am getting around remarkably well; this is what I expected of myself, so this is what’s happening.  Hopefully, soon, as the weather warms and the sun gets higher in the sky, I’ll be able to spend more time outside.  I know that will help renew my soul, as it always does this time of year.

6 responses to “Homebound.

I love to read your thoughts...

