Songs I Listened to Then

I wandered in my mind, today, back to the songs of 1982.  This was the time of a brief hiatus between marriages, for me, and I lived quite crazily with a guitar player by the name of Billy.  I hadn’t learned a damned thing during the years that I was married to my first husband, and I thought an ideal relationship was one that got me away from everything I’d ever known.  A bad year, but while it was going on, I was having a blast.  Please remember, I never said I was particularly picky about the songs that caught my fancy; in fact, I don’t recall being particularly mature at this time.  But I did have fun!

1982 was a great year for popular music; the world swore off disco, in favor of Punk and New Wave and other odds and ends.  Here are a few I remember, beginning with my all-time favorite New Wave Hit by The Human League, from their album of the same name, Don’t You Want Me Baby?

***

The band is The Clash, and this hit, from their album Combat Rock.  I’ve used a video with lyrics, because I never knew, until now, what they were saying.  But I love this song — Rock the Casbah by The Clash:

***

And, of course, anyone who was listening to the radio in 1982 remembers this one.  (This is the original video, and though it’s fuzzy, I felt like it’s the best experience.)  From his self-titled album, here is Billy Idol withWhite Wedding (Part I):

***

Finally, a band name Soft Cell released this next song in 1981, on their first album, Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret.  It has since been covered frequently, most notably by singer Marilyn Manson.  Here is Soft Cell with Tainted Love:

***

Okay, I never said I was particularly picky about the songs that caught my fancy; in fact, I don’t recall being particularly mature at this time.  But I did have fun!

11 responses to “Songs I Listened to Then

  1. Pingback: Songs I Neglected to Highlight in Previous Posts | Diabetic Redemption

  2. Hmm, 1982, I was in grade 3 so not listening to too much, but with older siblings it didn’t take long before I did. I know all of these, and the classic radio stations have them on regular rotation, so they are never far from my ears. Love billy idol, and I’ll have to watch the human league clip in a bit. 🙂 good job.

  3. I love these songs. In fact, I listened to White Wedding on my way to my 1st wedding:) They may never be considered classics but they make me smile and turn it up louder.

I love to read your thoughts...

