Gratitude Saturday 05/25/2013

Good Morning, or whatever time it is where you are.  I’m actually doing this post Saturday AM; I have had a week virtually free of doctors’ appointments, so I don’t feel so slammed.

I have so, so much for which to be grateful today.  I am alive, with food to eat and a roof over my head, (which is a good thing, because we’ve had the Maine version of a monsoon all week.)  I am feeling a lot better emotionally than I have in a long time — I received a lovely comment about yesterday’s craziness at the doctors’, and for a split second I couldn’t recall any troubles there.  I went through it, I ranted about it, and now it’s behind me.  For anyone who has never been depressed, that is an enormous change for me.  If I had a nickel for every time I carried that thing around for weeks, I wouldn’t be living here; I’d be in a house on the beach somewhere warm and lovely.

I owe thanks to so many for that.  First, sister S., who listened all those years, and kept right on loving me, AND introducing me to a new way of looking at the world.  Sue, from the bottom of my heart all the way to the top, thank you for your gift, and for being such a loving friend and sister.  ❤

My mom stayed right beside me, even when she was near crazy with frustration.  I know I’ve made you want to scream, time after time, Mom; thank you so much for hanging in there, and for loving me so much that even after all that, we are friends.  ❤

All of the other members of my family — I’m sorry I have to lump you together, but sisters J., DC, DB, and M., brother M., and Dad and P., for your unbounded optimism.  Also, assorted spouses and significant others, and all my nieces and nephews, and my grand-nephew and incipient grand-niece.  All of  you supported me and loved me, even when we didn’t see each other or speak for months at a time.  Thank you so much.  ❤

Mom just called, and we are going to the Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens in an hour, so I better go get ready.  My love and thanks to my psychologist, and all my friends, especially Darreby, and all of my lovely online friends, who are so faithful, work friends, and anyone I’ve forgotten:  I realize that each and every one of you has had a hand in getting me to where I am.  Thank you all so much.  I am so blessed, and so thankful.  I am a very lucky woman.

I love to read your thoughts...

