Gratitude Saturday 6/8/2013

I am a tired but very happy woman today.  I attended a dance last night, (first in decades,) as the kickoff event for reunion weekend at Morse High School.  I am a member of the Bath High School Alumni Association, the largest in the country, and we gather every year for the reunion of classes of five-year, ten-year, fifteen-year, and so on.  In Bath, this weekend is a very big deal.

With many thanks to Eldy

With many thanks to Eldy

I am grateful that I am still around and able to attend tonight’s class reunion party:  my 35th.  I have some trouble believing that I am going to spend the evening with people I first me in the latter half of the 70s.  I am grateful for Mom’s generosity — she took me out and found me a lovely outfit to wear tonight. I’m excited and a little nervous!

I’m thankful for my continuing reasonable health and my successful job, and my family and friends, and my home, and this city, this state, this country and this world.  I am appalled at the announcement of email and telephone spying by this country on its own people.  Congress couldn’t pass SOPA and PIPA, so they just went ahead and started gathering data surreptitiously.  I am embarrassed and angry about the whole situation, and the flaunting of the First Amendment.

But, I understand that this kind of behavior is common in politics — American politics, anyway.

But I got enough to eat and time to catch up on sleep, and I’m going to another party with people who knew me when.  Tonight will be fun, and I am very grateful for that.

One response to “Gratitude Saturday 6/8/2013

I love to read your thoughts...

