Sticking to my Own Path

Abraham-Hicks’ quote for the day speaks quite clearly to a principle I am trying hard to embrace:

See this world as a free world, and see everyone in it as trying through their individual experiences to find their way back to that calling, back to that Source Energy. And even though there are billions of them going about it in a way that is different from what you would choose, there’s no right or wrong way. In other words, bless them all, and get on with the only thing you have any power about, which is opening or closing your vortex to your natural state of Well-Being.

 —Abraham

 Excerpted from the workshop in San Francisco, CA on February 28, 2004

One thing I love to be is right.   From the time I was quite young, I felt deeply that I knew the only correct answer to everything.  I am still not absolutely sure how I got started down that road — I am pretty certain that step involved my fear of being wrong, of not being a good girl who exhibited perfection.   After all, being right was better than being good, or so I thought.  Once again, the why doesn’t matter; I got there willingly, and I stayed in that position of authority, (in my own mind, at least,) until long after I was living my own life.

Nobody gets blame for this.  Blame is as worthless as why.  I am learning this fairly late in life, but it is an important lesson.  Asking why and blaming others for my difficulties is really just putting another layer between me and the truth I need to face, in any situation.  The easiest way to avoid responsibility is to answer, “I did it because…” or “…so-and-so made me do it.”  I do all I can to avoid either of those traps.

But I am getting ahead of myself.  I believed I had the answers, and I was happy to direct others’ lives.  The thing is, as Abraham states above, what others are doing, and how they are doing it, should not affect me at all.  The only progression, the only path over which I have any influence at all is my own, and that one task is where my energy and concentration belong.

Of course, I still find it easy to say, “…but I care about this person, and I can see what is best for them.”  But if I strive to direct anyone’s life toward the right path, I am robbing them of their right to choose their own course, and removing my concentration from my own goals.  Stepping into others’ lives is an extremely attractive path for us humans to take.  After all, thousands of years of social, political, and religious training easily convince us that we are responsible for the well-being of others.  That, however, is not a way to accomplish what we are here to do — to connect with Source Energy and to be as whole and happy as we can be and, as Abraham tells us, to bless everyone else, each of whom is finding their own way to joy.

I love to read your thoughts...

