Silence is Golden

100-Word Challenge for GrownUps Image Courtesy:  Julia's Place  http://jfb57.wordpress.com

100-Word Challenge for GrownUps
Image Courtesy: Julia’s Place http://jfb57.wordpress.com

Time for another 100-Word Challenge for Grownups, (100WCGU,) from Julia’s Place.  This week’s prompt is:

…but where did the noise come from…

and the assignment is those 7 words plus 100.  Here is my entry:

I heard a noise last night, but where did the noise come from?  I live alone, and my building is                                                                                                                                                               fairly quiet now,now that the kooks from down the hall are gone.  The general tension present for the last several weeks finally let up a few days ago, and with it went a lot of the discord in the building.

Back to the noise, which seemed to be something I should have recognized.  Then, I figured it out.  The noise was no noise at all, but blessed, beautiful silence, filling my ears like sweet music.  I smiled, rolled on my side, and went back to sleep. 

4 responses to “Silence is Golden

I love to read your thoughts...

