Fade out

100-Word Challenge for Grownups

I was terribly sick for three months before the emergency surgery.  As I lay on the operating table, the doctor removed my deformed, diseased gall bladder.  (Two other doctors couldn’t decide what was wrong.  Hmmmmmmm.)

After a restful day, I called my friend Ding, who said she’d be there in an hour.  As I waited, my heart began to flutter —  I requested an EKG.  The nurse returned with her equipment, but I was fading away, and the blackness just enveloped me.  When I came to, twenty-five people encircled my bed, and the doctor was stowing the paddles.  Thank goodness I wasn’t in my friend’s car.

2 responses to “Fade out

I love to read your thoughts...

