Saturday Gratitude Post — February 22, 2014

I am so grateful, today.  I stopped this morning to think about the blessings I enjoy, and how I came to understand them so late in my life.  I am surrounded by family and friends who love me, and who want to see me succeed.  That is very gratifying.  I used to believe the people I knew, who wished me well, also had expectations I would never be able to meet.  Time and circumstance collaborate to teach me that love, friendship, encouragement, and even constructive criticism  are all gifts, from others to me.  I had best learn from them and appreciate their inherent value.

I am thankful for the many people who choose to receive and to read my writing.  Each person reading this post can take some credit for my continuing blogging successes, and if I could, I would love to thank each of you personally for your gifts of support, argument, questioning and seeking deeper knowledge.  I know the exchange between us, a function of this blogging relationship, strengthens me, and pushes me toward more in-depth writing, as well as deeper self-understanding.  Thank you, each of you, for heaping these blessings on me.

I saw my diabetes nurse-practitioner this week, and I believe we are finally dialing in my insulin levels.  This is the first time in decades that I am maintaining a solid <180 blood glucose.  I am more than happy to admit that small adjustments to my insulin doses make huge differences in not only my physical health, but also in my sense of self-confidence and self-worth.  I am very happy to be alive and interested and interacting with the world around me.

I could go on for days and still not list all the truly positive aspects of my life.  And even though I don’t mention everything for which I am thankful, I dwell now in a more solid sense of appreciation for the world around me, and for my life.  I know I say this every week, but truly, I am a lucky woman, and I live with  sincere thanks for my every moment on our lovely world.

I love to read your thoughts...

