Practice Makes…..Figs?

My next painting  was inspired by Margaret Smith’s

Green Figs in Enamel Bowl by Margaret Smith

Green Figs in Enamel Bowl by Margaret Smith

Green Figs in Enamel Bowl.  Follow the link to read more about the painter, and to see other of her works.

I write about this today, in preface to telling what I did this morning.  I have seen fresh figs; I have sat in a fig tree and picked the fruit off the tree, and immediately taken big bites of the freshest figs.  I know figs.  (Link here for a related post.)

One thing I didn’t know about figs was how to draw and paint them.  Rather than wing it and take a chance at screwing up my painting, I installed an app called Infinite Studio on my tablet, and got to work practicing drawing figs.  I fooled around with colors, brush types and sizes, and positioning of the figs in my drawing.    I drew and erased over and over until I knew I could make figs look semi-real.  Then I roughed them out in the bowl of my painting, and got to work adding all the nuances I discovered in my practice.

That was a new process for me — I never sketched before I painted, just like I never wrote outlines for school papers until after the paper itself was complete.  But this time, I am glad I took the time, and I’m sure, when I complete the painting, that it will look like a bowl of figs.  Not just like Smith’s bowl, for sure, but a bowl, nevertheless.

Practice figs 1

Practice figs 1

Practice figs 2

Practice figs 2

Practice figs 3

Practice figs 3

I love to read your thoughts...

